neutralmilk:

yes i’m actually mad about this

the same trendy white girls buying ‘henna kits’ and rocking it like they invented it are the same white girls who teased me in elementary school for wearing fancy salwar kameez and mehndi to school on my birthday

they’re the same white girls who bullied me into waxing my eyebrows for fourth grade picture day

they’re the same white girls who made faces and moved tables in the cafeteraia when my mom packed me baingan bharta for lunch

please someone let me in on the secret that is how exactly white girls decide what parts of my culture are ‘cool’ enough for them to adopt while they’re tearing me to shreds for daring to take pride in the rest of it

True Story…the same who wanted to feel my hair

Give it to me

